Urban Heros 2023

DTC Urban Hero & Kirk Nominations Due Soon!

Urban Hero 2023 Awards

By Ann Holliday, Vice President of Strategic Initiatives at Downtown Council of Kansas City

The Downtown Council is now accepting nominations for its 2023 annual awards. The prized awards will be a featured element of the DTC’s popular Annual Luncheon on Friday, April 12, 2024, and a special reception on Thursday, April 11, 2024. Both events will be held in the Kay Barnes Grand Ballroom at the Kansas City Convention Center.

Nomination deadline has been extended to Wednesday, January 31, 2024.

Award categories include:

Kirk Civic Leader Award – Lifetime achievement award presented to an extraordinary leader whose vision, guidance, and commitment have contributed to setting Downtown Kansas City on a path toward revitalization. The award’s namesake, J. Philip Kirk Jr., epitomized these qualities. The Kirk Award has been presented 20 times since it was established in 2002. Recent recipients include Mike Burke, Kay Barnes and Suzi Aron. Click here for the recipient list.

Urban Hero Award – Recognition of individuals representing small businesses or organizations, who are passionate about making Downtown Kansas City and its urban mosaic of neighborhoods a more vibrant place to live, work, and play. The Downtown Council has recognized more than 100 individuals and groups with this award since 2005.  The 2022 recipients included Rebecca Koop, Owner, Back Door Pottery; Shanita McAfee-Bryant, Founder/Executive Director, The Prospect KC; Edgar Palacios, President & CEO, Latinx Education Collaborative; Lisa Pena, Founder, Urban Hikes Kansas City; and Brian Williams, Director of Development, Folly Theater.

Nominations are due by 5 p.m. Wednesday, Jan. 31, 2024.

Make your nominations by completing the simple forms at these links:

Contact Ann Holliday, ann@downtownkc.org with any questions, or visit www.downtownkc.org/awards for more information. Please note: DTC & CID staff are not eligible for nomination.