

Urban Hero Award Recipients Presented by the Downtown Council of Kansas City

2005

- Marilyn Block
- Jim Dougherty
- Harvey Fried
- Elizabeth and Rick Goodden
- Kate Hackman
- Mel Mallin
- Margaret May
- Guy Merola
- John O'Brien and Jim Leedy
- Alex Pryor
- The Urban Core Group

2006

- Tim Butt and David Kuhn
- Lynda Callon
- Betty Crow
- Dana Gibson
- Downtown Neighborhood Association
- Dawn Kirkwood
- Walter Michael Miller
- STRETCH

2008

- Christina Boveri
- Charley German
- Gib Kerr
- David Morris
- Dave Scott
- Jane Zieha
- Frank Hicks
- Bill Shapiro

2009 (Education Focus)

- Academie Lafayette
- Judy McGonigle Akers
- Dr. Joan Caulfield
- Dr. Linda Edwards
- Dr. Bernard Franklin
- Jerry McEvoy
- Hugh Merrill
- Sister Vickie Perkins
- Jon Richard
- James Schriever
- Robert L. Wilcox

2007

- Barbara Bailey
- J. Kent Barnhart
- Jeff Becker
- Sherry Leedy
- Sheri Parr
- Dale Schulte
- Len and Donna Slaughter
- Bill Sundahl

2010 (Arts Focus)

- Porter Arneill
- Alexander Austin
- Marcy Chaisson
- David Dowell
- David Ford
- Pat Jordan
- David Hughes
- Paul Tyler
- Rick Usher
- Steve Paul

Urban Hero Award Recipients

2011

- Shaul Jolles, OfficePort KC
- Teri Rogers, T2
- August Grasis, III, Handmark
- Emily Voth, Indigo Wild
- Sam Meers, Meers Advertising
- Ryan Sciara, Cellar Rat Wine Studio
- Danny O'Neill, The Roasterie
- Christopher Elbow, Christopher Elbow Chocolates
- Keith Novorr, Michael's Clothing
- Danny Gosserand, Danny's Big Easy

2012

- Deb Connors, market master, City Market
- Evie Craig, executive director, reStart, Inc.
- David Johnson, co-founder, Streetcar Neighbors
- Jeff Owens, creative entrepreneur
- Chester Thompson, CEO, BEU of Greater KC

2013

- Vladimir Krstic, Kansas City Design Center
- 20th Street Infrastructure team, Dan Clothier, Jim Miller, Tom Nelson, Charlie Barnard
- Alex and Courtney Perry, The Arts Asylum
- Luke Wade, Recreational Advocate, KC Crew

2014

- Shawnna Journagan & Rusty Sneary, Founders,
 The Living Room
- Martin Mini, Marketing Volunteer, Crossroads Community Association
- Jason Swords, Principal, Sunflower Development Group
- Dave Sullivan, Executive Director, ArtsTech

2015

- Leonard Graham, Taliaferro & Browne, Inc.
- Dean Johnson, Crossroads Academy
- Tysie McDowell-Ray, Crossroads Academy
- Harry Murphy, Harry's Country Club
- Jay Tomlinson, Helix Architecture + Design

2016

- Andrew Bracker, City of Kansas City
- Vince Bryant, 3D Development
- Deb Churchill, City Market
- Julie Nelson Meers, mobank
- Matt Staub, Streetcar Advocate

2017

- Paul Masao Matsuoka, Kansas City Rescue Mission and Community Volunteer
- Cydney Millstein, Architectural & Historical Research
- Butch Rigby, developer
- Phil Shafer, a.k.a Sike Style, artist

2018

- Chris Goode, Ruby Jean's Juicery
- Christopher Harris, Harris Park Midtown
- Cheryl Kimmi, KC Creates
- Kite Singleton, Transit Advocate

2019

- Dick & Evelyn Craft Belger, Belger Art Space
- Peregrine Honig, Artist, Owner/operator of Birdie's
- Bob Kendrick, President, Negro Leagues Baseball Museum
- Jennifer Lapka, Founder & President, Rightfully Sewn

2020/21 - COVID

2022

- KC Art on the Block: A Black Lives Matter Project
- Jason Parson, President & CEO, Parson + Assoc.
- Elizabeth Rosin, Owner, Rosin Preservation
- Michael Smith, Restaurateur
- Marqueia Watson, Executive Director, Greater KC Coalition to End Homelessness