Life What to Do Arts & Culture
Arts & Culture

Shrek the Musical at the Music Hall

Downtown Kansas City is a celebration of the arts and culture, featuring more art galleries and studios, performing arts stages, theater stages and concert venues than anywhere else in the region.

The Crossroads Arts District, just blocks from the heart of Downtown, is the heartbeat of the Kansas City arts scene. It is home to the spectacular Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts and thriving visual and performing arts scene. For a guide to the many galleries in the Crossroads and throughout Downtown, see the comprehensive listings below.

The Crossroads is a unique, nationally known art and cultural district with more than 70 galleries and studios, along with unique restaurants and shops located a few short blocks south of the Power & Light entertainment district and the Sprint Center arena. The Crossroads is filled with contemporary, emerging and traditional art including painting, sculpture, photography, mixed media, graphic art, textiles, dance and theatre. The Crossroads opens its doors freely to lively Kansas City crowds for popular events such as the First Friday art walk, held every first Friday of the month. Whether you are a beginner or avid collector, or just enjoy art, the Crossroads Arts District is the place to be.

Downtown Gallery Guide
Alpha Gallery 2014 Main 560-1450
Apex Art Space facebook.com 1819 Wyandotte 841-0206
Archival Designs archivaldesignskc.com 2014 Main 522-6238
Art & Frame Warehouse/Gallery afwkc.com 2015 Grand 471-7444
ArtsTech artleafkc.com 1522 Holmes 461-0201
The B Gallery photostudiob.com 2016 Main 994-8995
The Base Gallery thebasegallery.com 2011 Baltimore 437-9975
Beggar’s Table Church & Gallery beggarstablechurch.org 2009 Baltimore 500-0280
Belger Arts Center belgetartcenter.org 2100 Walnut 474-3250
Bic Media bicmedia.com 2130 Washington 221-7021
The Bidwell Gallery jonbidwell.com 2022 Washington 365-0952
Bloyd Art Glass bloydartglass.com 2022 Washington 221-0122
Blue Bouquet bluebouquet.com 517 E. 18 St. 333-3571
Blue Djinn Gallery bluedjinngallery.com 1400 Union 518-4649
Blue Gallery bluegalleryonline.com 118 Southwest Blvd. 527-0823
Bridgeport Art Space bridgeportchurch.org/artspace 404 E. 18 St. 830-7088
The Box Gallery theboxgallery.org 1000 Walnut 760-7885
Buttonwood Art Space buttonwoodartspace.com 3013 Main 285-9040
Byron Cohen Gallery byroncohengallery.com online gallery 421-5665
Cara & Cabezas Contemporary caraandcabezas.com 1714 Holmes 332-6239
Chez Elle Creperie & Gallery chezellekc.com 1713 Summit 471-2616
City Center Square charlottestreet.org 1100 Main, 5th Floor 221-5115
City Ice Arts Center cityicearts.com 900 E. 21 St.
Crossroads KC at Grinders crossroadskc.com 417 E. 18 St. 221-5483
Dead Sea Artworks sheagordon.com 1714 Holmes 678-5533
Derek Porter Studio derekporterstudio.com 1907 Wyandotte 842-9060
Digital Labrador digitallabrador.com 125 SW Blvd. 841-9624
The Dolphin Gallery thedolphingallery.com 1600 Liberty 842-4415
The Dot Gallery visitkc.com 1517 Oak 283-1213
Downtown Neon Gallery downtownneongallery.com 1921 Truman 472-1190
#8 Gallery kevinmcgrawart.com 1600 Locust 916-8121
1819 Central Gallery 1819central.com 1819 Central 200-3417
1810 Gallery at Salva O’Renick 1810gallery.com 1810 Cherry, Suite 100 842-6996
Egawa + Zbryk egawazbryk.com 1824 Grand 472-6342
EGG Gallery kansascityartistscoalition.org 413 E. 18 St. 221-9553
Engel Bindery thebookbinders.com 322 SW Blvd. 842-8185
Front Space Studio cargocollective.com/frontspace 217 W. 18 St. 200-0472
The Gallery at 19 Below 19below.tv 5 W. 19 St. 471-1019
Gallery 111 gallery111.org 1414 Wyoming #11
Gallery HQ barryanderson.com 1427 W. 9 St. 916-0620
Genevieve Flynn Studio genevieveflynn.com 1717 Oak 333-6719
Grand Arts grandarts.com 1819 Grand 421-6887
Guinevere Art Museum guinevereartmuseum.com 2012 Baltimore 660-221-9940
Hilliard Gallery hilliardgallery.com 1820 McGee 561-2956
Hobbs Building hobbsbuilding.com 1427 W. 9 St. 841-0166
Honeytree Gallery honeytreegallery.com 504 E. 18 St. #102
Ice House kcicehouse.com 3111 Wyandotte 674-7224
The Imago Gallery visitkc.com 217 W. 19 Terr. 842-0405
Jones Gallery facebook.com 1717 Walnut 421-2111
KCAI Crossroads Gallery kcai.edu 1908 Main 802-3423
KCRM Community Arts kcrm.org 1529 Cherry 421-7643
Kathy Barnard Studio kathybarnardstudio.com 1605 Locust 472-4977
Kemper at the Crossroads kemperart.org 33 W. 19 St. 753-5784
Kevin Sink Photography kevinsink.com 1817 Grand 472-0711
Keyhole Gallery jessicalogsdon.com 1903 Wyandotte 326-8851
Knoll yelp.com 1903 Wyandotte 329-5000
Krzyz Photo krzyzphoto.com 1800 Locust 472-4999
La Esquina charlottestreet.org 1000 W. 25 St. 221-5115
The Late Show lateshowgallery.com 1600 Cherry 474-1300
Lawrence Lithography Workshop lawrencelitho.com 2011 Tracy 471-4848
Leedy-Voulkos Art Center leedy-voulkos.com 2012 Baltimore 474-1919
Light Works rockcottageglassworks.com 219 W. 19 Terr. 9-262-1763
The Living Room thelivingroomkc.com 1818 McGee 221-4260
Locust Studio locustfactory.com 504 E. 18 St. 255-5702
Loft 122 kcfringe.org 122 SW Blvd. 221-3268
Lyon Art LTD mlyon.com 2026 Broadway 421-1110
{:m gallery momentumkc.com 2014 Main 560-1450
M Studio & Gallery 9 W. 19 St. 221-0012
M/E Photography mephotography/photoshelter.com 504 E. 18 St., Ste. 105
MLB Designs & Boutique mlbdesigns.com 2020 Baltimore, Ste. 105 531-3133
Mattie Rhodes Center mattierhodes.org 915 W. 17 St. 221-2349
The Mercy Seat Gallery mercyseattattoo.com 210 E. 16 St. 668-6409
Millennic Glass facebook.com 1901 Wyandotte 472-6266
Mod Gallery boommod.com 1809 McGee 9-530-2897
The Mojo Collection themojocollection.com 2009 Baltimore 283-3444
Moxie Gallery & Studio mox.ie 1651 Washington 561-0384
Mutant Chaos Art Space mutantchaos.com 800 E. 17 St. 806-2300
MyArts KC myarts.org 1522 Holmes 881-3113
The Next Space facebook.com 512 E. 18 St. 660-864-4443
One3Studios one3studios.com 419 E. 18 St. 471-7333
Paragraph Gallery charlottestreet.org 23 E. 12 St. 221-5115
pARTnership Place charlottestreet.org 906 Grand, 13th Floor 221-5115
Peggy Noland peggynoland.com 124 W. 18 St. 221-7652
Photo’s Edge Gallery photosedge.com 2001 Grand, Ste. 703 9-602-7043
Plenum Space plenumspacekc.weebly.com 504 E. 18 St. 9-731-6402
Red Star Studio redstarstudios.org 2100 Walnut 474-7316
Scarlett Garnet Studio scarlettgarnet.com 504 E. 18 St., #101 914-5739
Sherry Leedy Contemporary Art sherryleedy.com 2004 Baltimore 221-2626
Slap-n-Tickle Gallery letyourfreakflagfly.com 504 E. 18 St. 716-5940
Studio B photostudiob.com 2016 Main 994-8995
The Studios Inc. thestudiosinc.org 1708 Campbell 994-7136
Studio 2131 kceventspace.com 2131 Washington 474-4555
T2 + Back Alley Films t2.tv 1906 Wyandotte 471-6554
Tannin Wine Bar tanninwinebar.com 1526 Walnut 842-2660
Third Gye Gallery thirdeyekc.com 2024 Main 931-7160
Thistle Vintage Gallery kcthistle.com 329 Southwest Blvd 221-7467
Tomboy Design Studio tomboydesign.net 1817 McGee 472-6200
Town Pavilion charlottestreet.org 1100 Walnut 221-5115
2010 Gallery 2010gallerykc.com 2010 Main 283-3374
Unit 5 unit5gallery.com 1920 Wyandotte 841-5500
Upstart Crow Framing Gallery 2016 Baltimore 518-4053
Vahalla Studios vahallastudios.com 2111 Washington 474-4962
Windhorse Gallery windhorserising.com 1717 Wyandotte, Ste. 200 283-0500
Performing Arts Venues
Folly Theater follytheater.org 1020 Central 842-5500
Gem Theater americanjazzmuseum.org 1616 E. 18 St. 474-6262
Grace & Holy Trinity Cathedral ghtc-kc.org 415 W. 13 St. 474-8260
Helzberg Hall kauffmancenter.org 1601 Broadway 994-7200
Kauffman Theatre kauffmancenter.org 1601 Broadway 994-7200
Midland Theatre midlandkc.com 1228 Main 283-9900
Music Hall kcconvention.com 301 W. 13 St. 513-5000
Theatrical Venues
American Heartland Theatre ahtkc.com Crown Center 842-9999
City Stage unionstation.org Union Station 460-2020
Copaken Theatre kcrep.org 13th & Walnut 235-2700
Coterie Theatre coterietheatre.org Crown Center 474-6552
Dr. Sketchy’s Anti-Art School drsketchy.com 1331 Union 668-6292
Fishtank Performacne Studio fishtanktheater.com 1715 Wyandotte 809-7110
Kauffman Center kauffmancenter.org 1601 Broadway 994-7200
The Living Room thelivingroomkc.com 1818 McGee 221-4260
Midland Theatre midlandkc.com 1228 Main 283-9900
Music Hall kcconvention.com 301 W. 13 St. 513-5000
Quality Hill Playhouse qualityhillplayhouse.com 303 W. 10 St. 421-1770
Concert Venues
City Market thecitymarket.org 20 E. 5 St. 842-1271
Crown Center crowncenter.com 2450 Grand 274-8444
Gem Theater americanjazzmuseum.org 1616 E. 18 St. 474-6262
Grinder’s crossroadskc.com 417 E. 18 St. 472-5454
Folly Theater follytheater.org 1020 Central 842-5500
Kansas City Live! powerandlightdistrict.com 13th & Grand 842-1045
Kauffman Center kauffmancenter.org 1601 Broadway 994-7200
Midland Theatre midlandkc.com 1228 Main 283-9900
Sprint Center sprintcenter.com 1407 Grand 949-7100