Urban Heroes Award

At the luncheon we will recognize small businesses and individuals who are passionate about making Downtown Kansas City a more vibrant place to live, work and play with the Urban Hero Award. The award is given to those who have worked to improve the quality of life Downtown.

The 2016 Urban Hero Honorees are:

  • Andrew Bracker, Brownfields Coordinator, City of Kansas City, Missouri
  • Vince Bryant, 3D Development
  • Deb Churchill, City Market
  • Julie Nelson Meers, Missouri Bank
  • Matt Staub, Streetcar Advocate

Click here for a list of previous recipients.

J. Philip Kirk Jr. Award in Honor of Community Vision and Downtown Stewardship

This award is presented annually to leaders whose vision, guidance and commitment have helped set Downtown on a clear path for revitalization. The 2016 award will be received by Albert P. Mauro.

Al Mauro was chairman of the Downtown Council from 1992 to 1998.  Mauro was a man ahead of his time leading an organization ahead of its time. Mauro held the chairman position for 3-terms, longer than any other chair.  During his tenure the organization restructured itself and began the research, analysis and community building efforts that laid the groundwork for the Downtown Community Improvement District, the Power & Light District, the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, the growth in residential developments and even the Downtown Streetcar.

Mauro is the retired Vice President and Secretary of Kansas City Southern Industries. He has also been a leader in many other areas including the desegregation of Truman Hospital, development of the Vista (now Marriott) Hotel in Downtown Kansas City,  and development of Ilus Davis Park. Al was a leader in many non-profit organizations, a past-president of Friends of the Zoo,  past- board president of the Kansas City School District and chairman of the Eye Foundation.

Click here for a list of previous recipients.